top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGrace R

flashlight

Updated: Feb 21, 2019

For my project I was inspired by neon, glow in the dark and blacklight aesthetics. I knew that quinine, which is found in tonic water, glowed under a blacklight so after harvesting in the junk shelf I resolved to make a container for tonic water that would glow under a blacklight, thus creating my "flashlight".


Final creation

My process



I started out with a power outlet. I cut the cord off so it would be more of a handheld device.


I then measured, traced and laser cut a small window for the opening in my power outlet. I'm assuming that a battery once resided here? I took a photo of the opening, brought that into illustrator and created a rectangle with rounded edges. Then I measured my opening and used the ruler tool in illustrator to match that. Then with the laser cutter I cut the shape into a piece of scrap acrylic.


I covered the holes left in the battery and filled the container with the tonic water. Then put hot glue around the acrylic and lowered it into the opening. I then added more hot glue around the seam to fortify it.


I added some purple paint to the body of the "flashlight" to allow for more contrast between the body and the chamber containing the tonic water. I also added stars with glow in the dark glue!




9 views0 comments
bottom of page