top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGrace R

a very eco-friendly makeup palette (enclosure)

For this week's project I wanted to create a makeup palette/compact. Originally I planned on making a compact with a nail in one corner and a magnet in the other, so the lid could swivel open and shut. The magnet was there to latch it completely shut. However, when I arrived on the floor on Wednesday all the laser cutters were broken, meaning that I couldn't laser cut my acrylic. I didn't want to leave my project until Thursday (the night before) because I thought that was too tight a time frame so instead I decided to hand cut a palette based off of GlamTech's palettes on etsy, only I was going to make it out of cardboard.


I started out with a bunch of scrap cardboard of varying thicknesses.

I hand cut out a bottom layer out of cardboard and then created the "wall" of the palette by cutting out a frame shape the same dimensions as the bottom. I used a thicker piece of cardboard for this.

I then cut another "wall" layer, only this time I used a very thin piece of cardboard and added large holes on all four corners. This was to hold my washers in place without them sticking up and out of my palette. I glued together all the layers to create the base for my palette. Afterwards I glued my washers into the shallow holes I created through the second and third layers of cardboard.

The neodymium magnets I purchased were very strong so I decided to glue them on the top of my lid instead of the bottom since the washers were hot glued in, and i figured that the neodymium was probably strong enough to rip the washers out of their little holes. I used a thick piece of cardboard for the lid and cored out four holes so the magnets could sit flush against the lid.


And that was it! I was done!



2 views0 comments
bottom of page