top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGrace R

7 (minus 2) rings

For this week's project I made five wooden rings.

I started out with a large piece of wood and my own personal ring. Using my ring as a rough guideline for how big to make the area around my ring (which I would later sand down), I created a 4 inch square with a small hole in the center. I then proceeded to make four more of these in a line, giving me a 10x2 strip of wood to work with.

Then, using the bandsaw I proceeded to cut these squares out.

I then used the drill press to drill down all five squares at once, creating a hole that aligned through all of them.



Afterwards I clamped them together and sanded them to create a rough oval shape. I clamped them together to try and ensure that the shapes of each ring were even. However, this did not work out too well as when I would rotate the clamp to and the edges I think I shifted some of the squares off center slightly. I corrected this in a later step by sanding each one individually, by hand.


Afterwards I sanded each ring individually using the automatic (electric?) sander.



Then I was done!



2 views0 comments
bottom of page